Moist Banana Bread

DSC_0186

Since I’ve been home for the Christmas Holidays, my sister has challenged me to cooking gluten, dairy and grain free. She has been trying out the Paleo Diet for a few months now and has experienced better health since then. I am not sure if the Paleo diet is for me, I don’t know if I could give up rice, quinoa and cheese, but regardless this Christmas I attempted to cook some Paleo friendly recipes. Here is a great Paleo blog that has some great recipes and where I found this new recipe!

I love this recipe because it’s super easy and you would never know that it has no added sugar or wheat in it! It is also high in protein from the eggs and high in fiber from the coconut flour! Even though I don’t have the same dietary restrictions as my sister, I still think I would make this banana bread the same!

DSC_0183

Ingredients
  • 4 bananas (mine were yellow and not very ripe)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup of chopped almonds or pecans
Instructions
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit
  2. Combine your bananas, eggs, nut butter, and coconut oil in a  food processor, blender or mixing bowl and mix well (if using a mixing bowl you need a good hand-mixer)
  3. Once all of your ingredients are blended, add in your coconut flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla, and mix well
  4. Grease a 9×5 glass loaf pan. If you use a metal pan it will probably bake in 45 minutes
  5. Pour in your batter and spread it evenly throughout the pan, then sprinkle chopped nuts on top
  6. Place in your preheated oven and bake for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean
  7. Remove from oven and flip your bread out onto a cooling rack

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

