Asian Lettuce Wrap Salad

DSC_0002The last few weeks in Squamish have been incredible! It actually feels like Spring is here, which isn’t always the case in the Pacific Northwest. We’ve had beautiful sunny weather; I’ve been able to start running and biking again in the mornings and the best part is my cravings for fun, colorful salads have definitely gone up exponentially. No more comfort stews and soups! This is one of those salads where you have a major AHA! moment. I love lettuce wraps. I had my first experience with them a year ago at the Cheesecake Factory. My Mom and I ordered it as an appetizer and devoured it completely! As soon as we finished it we looked at each other and we were both thinking the same thing: why have we not made these ourselves before! After that meal, a few times a month I make lettuce wraps. My boyfriend loves them, even though he has to eat 10 to get full and he continually requests them for dinner. One night I had every intention of making lettuce wraps, when I realized my lettuce had gone bad and I had nothing to wrap them in. At this moment I thought, why not through it all together as a wonderful salad! And at that moment magic was born. I added the arugula and spinach as substitutes for lettuce and otherwise everything was the same. It was quick and easy and even better I had easy leftovers for several healthy lunches. It was a win-win! I hope you enjoy this salad as much as I did. I’m looking forward to more salads with the warmer spring weather!

Ingredients:

  • Arugula
  • Spinach
  • Brown Rice Noodles
  • Carrots, sliced into slivers
  • Avocado
  • Cilantro
  • Almonds, chopped
  • Spicy Peanut Sauce
  • Chicken, shredded

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to boil and add the chicken to the water and boil for 25 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.
  2. Bring another pot to boil and cook rice noodles. They only take 5 min, so watch them closely!
  3. While chicken and noodles are cooking, chop and prepare other ingredients and put into bowls
  4. Once chicken is cooked, take two forks and shred the chicken into bite sized pieces for the salad.
  5. Now just assemble individual salads by adding various ingredients together. Voila!
Leave a Reply

