Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

DSC_0032

My posts are a bit delayed, due to my schedule the last several weeks. However, I have a whole week off from school coming up and I plan to cook and post a lot of new recipes! One of my favorite snacks of all time are pumpkin seeds. I definitely have a weakness for salty, crunchy, goodness and these fit the bill! The store bought seeds are satisfactory, but fresh, roasted seeds right out of the oven just cannot be beat! My mother-in-law was kind enough to give us three sugar pumpkins for me to roast and make fall goodies with. With the fresh pumpkin puree, I made pumpkin cinnamon bread which was amazing! I forgot to take pictures of the bread, so I’ll have to make it again, so I can post the recipe! I roasted all the seeds from the pumpkins and the seeds were eaten in a matter of minutes. Cleaning off the seeds can be a bit tedious, but nonetheless they are so easy to make! I have experimented with several different spice combinations, so I will post the several versions I have tried and you can see which one is up your alley.

DSC_0035

Ingredients:

  • raw, pumpkin seeds washed well
  • olive oil
  • Spice combo 1 -paprika, cayenne pepper, salt
  • Spice combo 2- Mrs. Dash, cumin, salt
  • Spice combo 3- rosemary, garlic salt, thyme

Directions:

  1. Once you have cleaned off the seeds, dry them. There are several ways to do this. The easiest is just to leave them out on a baking sheet for several hours or overnight. I was not patient enough so I used a blow dryer! Some people use paper towels, but I hate how they stick and you have to individually peel them off. Whichever you choose, just make sure they are dry.
  2. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.
  3. In a bowl, drizzle some olive oil onto the seeds until they are nicely coated. Usually this is 2-3 tablespoons.
  4. Next add your spice combo! Again use best judgement on how much seasoning you want.
  5. Make sure the seeds are spread out evenly on a baking sheet and bake for 45min to an hour, stirring several times. I highly suggest checking your seeds every 10 minutes after they have been in for 30minutes. Pumpkin seeds burn easily and quickly! You don’t want your seeds to get brown on the outside, since the inside core will be burnt. You want the seeds to get a nice golden color on the outside. I suggest testing a few seeds for doneness as you get towards the end of the baking times.
Leave a Reply

