Roasted, Butternut Squash Fries

DSC_0016

Lately I feel like my “Recipes to Try” list is growing daily, but I have not had time to create and photograph my creations. So when I did have a lot of extra time this week, I chose this recipe. When I came across it several weeks ago, I could not get it out of my head! We have been having a lot of squash lately, butternut, spaghetti and acorn, and I simply cannot get enough of it! I love how easy it is to pop in the oven and the delicious aromas that spread throughout our apartment as it roasts. This recipe gives it a different twist and a new flavor profile! It took some time to peel and cut up the fries, but in the end I was happy I tried it. I went the spicy route with this recipe, but you could also simply season them like normal fries. The sweetness from the coconut oil and spice of the cayenne pepper really compliment one another, so I would highly recommend it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • dash of salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Peel the squash and then slice it up into thin fries. Try to keep the thickness uniform so they cook evenly.
  3. Melt the coconut oil and pour over fries. Season with spices. Feel free to substitute seasonings.
  4.  Spread fries onto baking sheet and throw into the oven. Bake for 20 minutes, then flip fries and bake for another 20minutes. I like my fries crispy so for the last 6-8 minutes I put the broiler on to crisp them up a bit!
  5. Serve immediately, since nobody likes cold fries!
Leave a Reply

