Baked Cinnamon Apple Crisps

DSC_0028
Several weeks ago, my brother and sister made the long drive to Seattle from Kelowna and came to visit me. Unfortunately, we only had two days to hang out because they flew to Costa Rica for a week long vacation. However, it was fabulous to see them and I enjoyed showing them my new neighborhood here in Seattle. For their long drive home, I wanted to send them off with some snacks. Since my sister is celiac and eats a strict Paleo diet and my brother is a bit of a picky eater, I had to get creative! So I made them these simple baked apple crisps and this wonderful paleo chocolate pumpkin bread.

I don’t have a food drier so I was so happy that these crisps worked out since I now plan to try baking other fruits as well. It’s been unusually cold here the last few weeks, so it was perfect to have the oven on to heat up our small apartment. Also, I used my mandolin to slice these bad boys up as it definitely speeds up the process and ensures all your slices are uniform to prevent burning. I highly suggest making this simple snack and season it with whatever suits your fancy!

Ingredients:

  • apples (I used gala, but other varieties would be fine)
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Wash the apples and slice them into thin slices, about 1/4 inch thick.
  2. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and spread the apples on the sheets in a single layer.
  3. Sprinkle the apples with cinnamon and nutmeg. (Some recipes use sugar, but I found the apples to be sweet enough!)
  4. Heat oven to 200 degrees and bake apples for two hours, flipping them after one hour.
  5. After two hours, turn oven off and let apples cool off with the oven. I found this helps them stay crispy! Store in an airtight container so they maintain their crispiness.
Leave a Reply

