Sage and Rosemary Roasted Squash and Sausage

DSC_0033
This dish has been on my mind for a long time now! Several weeks ago, we had dinner with a friend of ours from college, who we found out was living in Seattle as well. Surprisingly they only live less than 10 minutes from us! It was so wonderful seeing her and meeting her boyfriend. We reminisced about our college days and talked about the perks of living in a big city and what we miss about the natural beauty of Squamish. Overall, it was a great evening, but what stuck in my mind was the delicious dinner they made us! They got the recipe from one of Martha Stewarts “One Dish Dinner” lists and I must say I have new-found respect for that woman.

I immediately looked up the recipe after that evening and finally this weekend I was able to make my own version of the recipe. I basically kept everything the same, I just added butternut squash and sweet potatoes, substituted cranberries since I did not have dried cherries, and cut out the cheese. According to Bryce though, the dried cherries cannot be substituted by cranberries. He was adamant that the next time I make this I get the cherries! I thought the cranberries were fine, but c’est la vie!

There are several things I love about this recipe. I love how simple it is and easy to chop up and throw into the oven. I love how the spice of the sausage, the sweetness of the squash and onions and the tartness of the cranberries all come together! I made sure to stack my fork so that each bite included a bit of everything. The dried sage and rosemary add such an earthy element as well, it adds to the comfort of this dish! So one night when you’re feeling tired and needing some sweet and spice, whip up this satisfying dish and I promise it won’t disappoint!

Ingredients:

  • four spicy italian sausages (We got ours at Costco!)
  • one acorn squash
  • one butternut squash
  • two sweet potatoes
  • half of a red onion
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dried sage (Can use fresh if you have it on hand)
  • 1 tbsp dried rosemary  (Can use fresh if you have it on hand)
  • dried cranberries or cherries

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Chop the acorn squash in half and scoop out all the seeds. Then cut into half moon slices.
  3. Peel the butternut squash and scoop out seeds. Cut into similar width and length slices as the acorn squash.
  4. Peel the sweet potato and cut into similar slices as well.
  5. Chop up the red onion into half moon pieces.
  6. Throw the squash, potato and onions into a bowl and toss with olive oil. Then sprinkle sage and rosemary. Once evenly mixed, pour onto an aluminum foil lined baking sheet. Make sure it is spread out onto a single layer. Use another baking sheet if needed.
  7. Place the sausages on top and poke them with a few holes to avoid exploding sausages in your oven!
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes until squash is soft and sausages are heated through.
  9. Garnish with cranberries before serving!
Leave a Reply

