Garlic Prawn and Spicy Salami Pasta

DSC_0002

I don’t know about you, but some days I get a strong craving for a hearty dish of pasta. I usually try to ignore the craving, since there is not much nutritional value in pasta; however, several weeks ago I discovered Trader Joe’s Gluten Free quinoa and rice noodles which changed the game! Often after eating pasta, I would get the “gluten slump” where I would feel bloated, lazy and just plain regretful for eating pasta! However, these gluten free noodles have no after effect and the best part is you would NEVER know they are gluten free. They don’t get soggy or remain hard like whole wheat pasta. We’ve had them several times now, and each time Bryce and I both comment on how delicious they are and that you’d never know they were gluten free.

This recipe kind of came together by chance. One day while shopping at Costco I felt the strong urge to buy a large package of salami. At the time I was thinking, “I could have this on crackers and sandwiches for lunch!”, however, after several days I was tired of that. Every time I opened the fridge I had this package of salami staring at me and I had no idea what I could use it for! I beginning searching for recipes with salami in it and all I could find were pasta or sandwich dishes. So I decided I would create my own pasta dish to use up this darn salami.

I love garlic, butter and prawns and I figured this would go well with the salami and noodles. I don’t like creamy sauces, so I wanted to keep it simple and just do a garlic butter sauce. Then I wanted to add some kick to the dish and I thought about throwing in some red pepper flakes, but decided to go with chopped peperoncini instead. These pickled peppers add just a subtle kick to the dish, but you could add flakes to heat it up more! Lastly, I wanted to add some color, so I threw in some chopped spinach to get some veggies in the mix and brighten it up.

It was one of those meals that when Bryce and I sat down to eat, I “warned” him. I told him that I totally threw this together haphazardly and I had no idea if it would taste good or not. He gave me that look that says, “This better be good because I’m hungry!” and we started eating. After one bite we both looked at each other and couldn’t believe how good it was! We both polished off our plates and since then Bryce has requested it on the menu nearly every week. Let’s just say I’m buying salami more often now, just to make this!

DSC_0004

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Quinoa Rice Noodles
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • 10-12 large prawns, tails removed
  • 1 cup of salami, sliced into half inch slices
  • 4 peperoncinis, chopped
  • 2 cups of spinach, chopped

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions.
  2. Melt butter in a large saucepan and add the chopped garlic. Saute until soft and fragrant about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the sliced salami and peperoncinis and saute until salami is a bit brown and crispy, about 7 minutes.
  4. Add the prawns and cook until they’re pink, about 7 minutes.
  5. Add the chopped spinach and cook for 5 minutes until its soft. Then add pasta to pan and mix until butter coats noodles. Serve it up!
3 thoughts on “Garlic Prawn and Spicy Salami Pasta

  1. Yum! This sounds super good. I have never even bought salami, not to mention cooked with it. I think I will try it. I love clam linguine so that’s usually where I get my pasta fix but the kids aren’t huge fans of it. They may like this better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

