Tom Kha Gai

DSC_0018

This is a recipe I have had in the back of my head for awhile, but I just never had the motivation to collect all the ingredients and make it happen! However, last weekend I had an extra day off, so I made up my mind that I would go to an asian market in the international district and make the soup. I must say, I regret not doing this sooner because the market was amazing and I had a lot of fun walking up and down the isles. There were so many new foods to experience, it really got the wheels turning in my head of new things to try. I will definitely be back there soon!

I first tried this soup when I went to Thailand and I had it nearly everyday I was there! When I told Bryce what I was making he gave me this weird look, so I told him its basically Thai Chicken Noodle Soup. It has a unique combination of sweet, salty and spicy, which makes it very satisfying and comforting. Also, you can add any vegetables you want to it to make it more filling! The key to ensuring that all the flavors are incorporated is to mash/bruise the spices prior to adding them to the broth to simmer. I used my Pampered Chef infuser to put it all the spices into as I simmered the broth. This made it really easy for me to remove everything afterwards and to have only the flavorful broth remain. However, the lemon grass, galangal root and Thai chili peppers are key ingredients to the unique flavor of the soup. I do not suggest substituting them for anything else or you’ll lose out on the flavor! This soup perfect for a rainy day meal or if you’re feeling a bit under the weather, the galangal root and lemon grass will help soothe anything 🙂

DSC_0022

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 can of full fat coconut milk
  • 6-8 kaffir lime leaves
  • 1 stalk of lemon grass
  • 3 inches of galangal root
  • 4-6 bird’s eye chili peppers or Thai chili peppers
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 3 tbsp of lemon/lime juice
  • 1/4 cup of fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar
  • 2 cups of mushrooms (any kind works, except shitake)
  • 2 whole chicken breasts
  • 1 package of thin rice noodles
  • Thai chili sauce for flavoring when served

Directions:

  1. Remove the stems on the kaffir lime leaves, then bruise the leaves with the end of a knife. Next, cut off the bottom white section of the lemon grass and soften by using the end of a knife. Peel the galangal root and chop into round slices. Chop up a handful of cilantro and add everything except the galangal into a silicon herb infuser. I have this one and I love it!
  2. Throw the infuser and galangal into a large pot with the chicken broth and coconut milk. Simmer for 15 minutes until you can taste the flavors from the infuser.
  3. Take the bird’s eye chillies and bruise them with the end of the knife and add to pot.
  4. Chop up the chicken and mushrooms into bite sized pieces and add to the pot.
  5. Remove from hear and add the fish sauce, coconut palm sugar, lemon juice. Taste the broth to ensure it has a good balance of salty, sweet and sour. Adjust flavor with fish sauce, sugar and lemon juice.
  6. Cook rice noodles according to directions on package and set aside.
  7. Serve the soup over noodles and garnish with cilantro and Thai chili sauce for added spice!
Leave a Reply

