Watermelon Slushies

DSC_0008

How is it already the end of July!? We’ve had an incredible summer so far, filled with plentiful sunshine, fresh produce and lots of fun times with friends and family. The last few weeks we’ve been trying to make the most out of our time in Seattle by checking off things on our bucket list before we move in two weeks! We’ve hit up some parks and beaches and eaten at some amazing restaurants. One year has gone by way too fast and we’ve loved our time in Seattle. However, we’re excited for the next stage and moving back to Canada. Other exciting news is that I passed the Washington State edTPA which means I am now a fully certified teacher! I have 10 days left of class and then I will be finished with my Master’s Degree. The MIT program has been amazing and has inspired me even more to follow my passion for teaching and educating others. It has definitely changed the way I perceive the teaching profession and I am thankful for the wonderful faculty mentors and peers I have met during the process. I can’t wait until the day I have my own classroom. However, until then I will enjoy all the free time I can get!

DSC_0002

This recipe was created during the heat wave we had last week when our apartment was still 80 degrees at 10pm and Bryce and I were overheating and trying to cool down in order to go to sleep. I had a small watermelon in the fridge and with a few simple steps we had a great treat that cooled us off instantly! We laughed as we drank these because within 5 minutes of me drinking mine I had goosebumps on my arms! You could easily add other fruit you have on hand to jazz these up, but I love the pure watermelon flavor! I added the salt because it helps bring out the watermelon flavor. If you’ve ever had salt on watermelon you’ll know what I’m talking about! I hope everyone is finding ways to keep cool this summer 🙂

DSC_0010

Ingredients:

  • one mini watermelon, cut up and cubed
  • 2 trays of ice
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tbsp lime juice

Directions:

  1. Put the watermelon in the blender and mix until smooth consistency. Add a bit of water if needed.
  2. Add the ice, salt and lime juice to mixture and blend until smooth.
  3. Serve immediately, but beware of goosebumps as a result!
2 thoughts on “Watermelon Slushies

  1. I am just so impressed by your posts – keep it up. Shall try your watermelon slushes. Pics look so good.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. can’t you just make it for me 🙂 so cute! love ya girls so glad I know you and that my kids have you as their aunt 🙂 those look so amazing but I think for me to try one they will need to have rum in them 🙂 hahahaha kidding! I will have to try it my kids would love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

