After looking through my past posts, I realized I’ve neglected to share some of my go-to recipes for quick dinners during the week. Therefore, I felt that my next recipe needed to share the magic of quick, delicious meals! I can’t really take credit for this recipe, since my mom originally came up with this mixture back when I was in high school. When I started cooking for myself in university, I distinctly remember calling her to ask for this recipe because I couldn’t imagine preparing salmon any other way! Since then I have rarely strayed away from this recipe when preparing salmon. In fact, Bryce has imposed this recipe on his own mother because he loves it so much!

DSC_0009

The beauty of this recipe is that it involves simple ingredients and it can be mixed up in minutes. Typically I have all these ingredients on hand and the flavors go well with a variety of salads and vegetables. However, the typical accompaniment is sautéed asparagus and mushrooms.

DSC_0019

I prefer cooking the salmon on the BBQ, as I find it adds more flavor and it’s effortless to cook. To prepare the salmon I simply lay the salmon on a large piece of tinfoil, spread the mixture over the top, then I cover the salmon with another large piece of tinfoil. I fold up the edges so the juices don’t run out and the steam stays in the entire time it cooks. I place the salmon on the top rack of the BBQ and put the outer two burners on high and the inside burners on low. I find with most BBQs this setup maintains a temperature of 350-400 degrees. I cook it for 20 minutes, without peeking, since that lets out all the steam and heat. You can tell if the salmon is cooked by its firmness using a spoon or spatula, very similar to a steak. Once its ready, just peel away the tinfoil and its ready to eat!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbs mayonaise
  • 1 tbs grainy dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbs dried dill
  • 1 tbs Mrs. Dash

Directions:

  1. Mix together all the ingredients.
  2. Spread evenly over salmon.
Leave a Reply

